Types of Hajj

Types Of Hajj

Most of the people who intend to perform Hajj get confused about the type of Hajj they will be performing. To completely fulfill the rituals corresponding to each sort of Hajj, it is of prior importance to know the types of Hajj and the differences between them.

Hajj can be performed in three different ways:

  • Hajj-e-Qiran
  • Hajj-e-Tamattu
  • Hajj-e-Ifrad


Qiran is referred to as “The Combined Hajj”. Umrah is also performed along with Hajj of this type. The person performing it is called ‘Qarin’. It is obligatory for the Qarin to slaughter an animal which he brings along with him. The pilgrim enters the state of ihram with the intention of performing both Umrah and Hajj. He certifies his intentions to perform Hajj-e-Qiran by saying these Holy verses:

Labbayk-Allahumma labbayka bi-Hajjin wa-‘Umrah!
“O Allah! I answer Your call to perform Hajj and ‘Umrah!”

The pilgrim cannot exit from his ihram after performing sa’ay and does not have to perform sa’ay again at the time of Hajj because he has already performed it at the time of Umrah. This type of Hajj is for those that are coming from outside the boundaries of Haram Shareef. If anyone living inside the boundaries performs this hajj, it will be considered a sin and he will have to sacrifice an animal to compensate for his sin.


The person performing Hajj-e-Tamattu is known as ‘Mutamatti’.  In this type of Hajj, the pilgrim performs Umrah along with Hajj. The difference between Hajj-e-Qiran and Hajj-e-Tamattu is that on the time of putting ihram, the pilgrim declares his niyyah (intention) to perform Umrah only by saying this:

“Labbayk-Allahumma labbayka bi’Umrah!”
“O Allah! I answer Your call to perform Umrah.”

The pilgrim let goes the ihram after performing Umrah and then puts it again, on the day of performing Hajj that is on the 8th of Dhu’l-Hijjah. So he has to perform a complete Umrah and a complete Hajj.


Ifrad is also referred to as “The Isolated Hajj”. The person performing Ifrad is known as ‘Mufrid’. Unlike the other two types of Hajj, a mufrid is not under obligation to slaughter the animal but he can do so upon his own will and he has to stay in ihram until the day of sacrifice. It is a must for the pilgrim to shave his head. The pilgrim enters the state of ihram with the intention of performing Hajj only and not the Umrah. The pilgrim declares his niyyah (intention) to perform Hajj-e-Ifrad by saying this:

Labbayk-Allahumma labbayka bi-Hajj!
“O Allah! I answer Your call to perform Hajj.”

Hajj-e-Ifrad is for those living in the boundaries of Haram, Miqats and Jeddah.

Hajj-e-Tamattu is considered to be the best among three as it was also performed by our beloved Holy Prophet (PBUH) and his companions. It is strongly recommended for every Muslim to perform this type of Hajj.